By | 8/06/2008 02:31:00 AM 2 comments
YOGA is a way of life,an art of righteous living or an integrated system for the benefit of the body,mind and inner spirit.The word Yoga comes from Indian philosophy,it literally means union,and in this context refers to the union of the individual's soul with the universal.This art originated,was perfected and practiced in India thousands of years ago.In the words of Patanjali, author of the Yoga Sutras,"yoga is the ability to focus the mind on a single point without distraction." Yoga is a physical discipline;it uses the body and breathing to develop self-awareness and mental clarity.It is an Indian spiritual path aimed at achieving the union with the Supreme Consciousness.
Some yogas go beyond it and aim at the spiritual transformation of the entire human nature and obtaining immortality even for the physical body.A practitioner of Yoga is called a Yogi (male) or Yogini (female). Outside India,yoga is mostly associated with the practice of asanas (postures) of Hatha Yoga or as a form of exercise.
Yoga is an ancient philosophy of life as well as a system of exercises that encourages the union of mind,body,and spirit.Many Hindu texts discuss aspects of yoga,including the Vedas,Upanishads,the Bhagavad Gita,the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali,the Hatha Yoga Pradipika,the Shiva Samhita and various Tantras.
Classified by the type of practices,the major branches of yoga include: Hatha Yoga,Karma Yoga,Jnana Yoga,Bhakti Yoga,and Raja Yoga.Raja Yoga,established by the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali,and known simply as yoga in the context of Hindu philosophy,is one of the six orthodox (āstika) schools of thought.
The Sanskrit term yoga has many meanings.It is derived from the Sanskrit root yuj,"to control", "to yoke", or "to unite".Common meanings include "joining" or "uniting",and related ideas such as "union" and"conjunction".Another conceptual definition is that of "mode, manner,means"or "expedient,means in general".
The references to yoga are available in 'Upanishads' and 'Puranas' composed by Indian Aryans in the later Vedic and post-Vedic period.The main credit for systematizing yoga goes to Patanjali who wrote 'Yoga Sutra',two thousand Years ago.He described the principles of the full eight fold yogic discipline.He composed the treatise in brief code words known as 'Sutras'.'Yoga Sutra' is the most important basic text on Yoga.It is through this basic treatise that the essential message of yoga spread throughout the world.
Aim of Yoga is the attainment of the physical, mental and spiritual health.
Patanjali has recommended eight stages of Yoga discipline.
1.Yamas - Yamas (abstentions or restrains)
2.Niyamas - Niyamas (observances)-austerities,purity,contentment,study,surrender of the ego
3.Asanas - Physical postures or exercises
4.Pranayama - Control of vital energy (Breathing control)
5.Partyahara - Withdrawal of the senses
6.Dharana - Concentration of the mind (Contemplation)
7.Dhyana - Meditation
8.Samadhi - Attainment of The super conscious state
Newer Post Older Post Home


Rinkly Rimes said...

I haven't been blogging for long and I'm still amazed at the interesting people I meet! I have to confess that I've never heard of your area, but then, have you ever heard of Newcastle, on the east coast of Australia????

It is only through blogging that an elderly Australian grandmother like me can meet someone like you and learn something!

Prashant said...

Hi everyone,

It's not intrusion but an humble request to the community here.

I have recently started an articles website and would request you (I will appreciate if you can) to please spare some time and post articles at my site.